Mangaung Fire Department
Central South Africa

About the Mangaung Fire Department

The Mangaung Local Municipality is situated in the Free State Province of South Africa. From 2000, the Transitional Local Councils of Bloemfontein, Thaba Nchu and Botshabelo as well as two rural councils were merged to form the Mangaung Local Municipality.

Mangaung is the sixth largest city in the country and covers about 6 300 square kilometers. It is home to almost 850 000 people - 23% of the Free State's population. (source: Braby's Free State Business Directory)

The Bloemfontein Municipality's Fire Department was established in 1896 and the Thaba Nchu Fire Department in 1980 by the old Boputhatswana Government. Botshabelo and the two rural councils had no fire departments.

To view 2009 incident statistics, click here.


Contact us